Thursday Afternoon Walk

I took a walk down the boulevard, today. I thought a few photos of things I was thinking about would be interesting.

montwalk-1

What will go in here? I never went in when it was a martial arts dojo, but I was sad when it closed. Will it be developed into another single family home? Will flats go in? Will a new business take over? In my head, I wish it would become a cosy cafe and bookstore combo or a really good shoe repair and tailor.

montwalk-2

This street is always good for a little sidewalk shopping (and when the traffic isn’t too bad it is a pleasant place to ride your bicycle). It has been a few years since I felt a need to take anything large home, but someone left out a quite nice Nikon bag the other day and I was grateful. The drawers that match my futon (the actual matching pair I couldn’t afford when I bought the futon) appeared at Detroit at just the time I needed them, too. Hopefully, the water filter I left out the other day made someone happy.

montwalk-3

Christmas bicycles and daily dog walks. Every year for decades, this scene has changed very little.

montwalk-4

These buses get more crowded and used every year. Some people complain, but I like to think about how people choose to get around. I wish the trolley still ran down Monterey.

montwalk-6

When children can ride freely in a space, it is a good space. I wish I saw more kid’s bicycles locked up on the street, waiting for their riders. It is hard to be unhappy seeing those streamers!

montwalk-7

Decorative gourde season seems to last a while around here! With the rains actually coming to us this year, and weather cold enough for our deciduous trees to actually turn, have you considered adopting a drain so none of us get flooded? It doesn’t take much and makes a huge difference to everyone!

Had an interesting walk on the boulevard recently?

4 responses to “Thursday Afternoon Walk

  1. Stuart Rosenthal

    Lovely article, enjoyed it very much! However I am perplexed by the Wells Fargo bank, where is there a Wells Fargo in our neighborhood?
    I guess the nice sidewalk brickwork at the bus stop is at Glen Park?
    Thanks

  2. All roads lead to Glen Park! When we did the pedestrian survey in 2010, I wondered how many of the people walking on Monterey Blvd. either started or ended in Glen Park.

  3. That’s me on my Bike Friday!

Leave a Reply

